Press Release

REBNY Honors Distinguished Leaders at 123rd Annual Banquet


January 17, 2019

Share This
REBNY Honors Distinguished Leaders at 123rd Annual Banquet

(L-R) Alex Bernstein, Bernstein Real Estate Group; Helena Durst, The Durst Organization; Dan Tishman, Tishman; Bill Rudin, Rudin Management Co., Inc.; Carol Kellermann, Citizens Budget Commission; John Banks, REBNY; Ira Fishman, HSP Real Estate; Diane Ramirez, Halstead Real Estate; Bernard Warren, Webb & Brooker. Photo Credit: Jill Lotenberg.

U.S. Senator Charles Schumer presents public service award to Carol KellermannReal estate industry celebrates Daniel Tishman, Diane Ramirez, Bernard Warren, Helena Durst, Ira Fishman, and Alex Bernstein

At the Real Estate Board of New York’s (REBNY) 123rd Annual Banquet on January 17th, New York City’s real estate industry gathered with City and State dignitaries to honor the professional and civic achievements of Carol Kellermann, Bernard Warren, Diane Ramirez, Daniel Tishman, Helena Durst, Ira Fishman, and Alex Bernstein.

U.S. Senator Charles Schumer applauded Carol Kellermann, outgoing president of the Citizens Budget Commission, on her dedicated service to New York City as she received The John E. Zuccotti Public Service Award. The Zuccotti Award recognizes a New Yorker who has displayed exceptional accomplishments and service in the public's interest. Kellermann was Schumer’s first chief of staff in the House of Representatives.

Addressing an audience of over 2,000, the Senator called for an end to the government shutdown and the passage of the Gateway tunnel project. “New York depends on it,” he said.

Schumer was joined by numerous elected officials, New York City and State commissioners, along with civic and business leaders.

"Tonight’s turnout is a sign of the strength and unity of our industry,” said John H. Banks, REBNY President. “Together we will lead the way for a brighter 2019.”

“We commend the honorees on their outstanding accomplishments and thank them for their service to our industry and New York City,” said Bill Rudin, REBNY Chairman.

Former REBNY Senior Vice Presidents John Doyle and Michael Slattery, who retired in 2018, were also recognized during the program for their commitment and service to REBNY and New York City.

The dinner program concluded with an educational video on Retail in New York City produced with assistance from the New York City Economic Development Corporation, Alliance for Downtown New York, NYC & Company, Silverstein Properties, and The Related Companies.

The awards presented at this year’s banquet are among the top professional distinctions in the real estate industry.

Daniel R. Tishman, Principal and Vice Chairman of Tishman, received The Harry B. Helmsley Distinguished New Yorker Award, which is presented to an industry member for their invaluable contributions to New York’s civic welfare and the real estate community.

Diane M. Ramirez, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Halstead Real Estate, received The Bernard H. Mendik Lifetime Leadership in Real Estate Award for her exceptional accomplishments in the profession, leadership, and service to the real estate industry over the course of her career.

Carol Kellermann, President of the Citizens Budget Commission, received The John E. Zuccotti Public Service Award. This award recognizes a New Yorker who has displayed exceptional accomplishments and service in the public's interest.

Helena Rose Durst, a Principal at The Durst Organization, received The Kenneth R. Gerrety Humanitarian Award, which recognizes a REBNY member’s meritorious service to the community.

Bernard Warren, Chairman and President of Webb & Brooker, received The George M. Brooker Management Executive of the Year Award, which recognizes individuals of superior accomplishment in property management based on outstanding professionalism, civic achievement, and contributions to the real estate industry.

Ira Z. Fishman, a Partner at HSP Real Estate Group, received The Louis Smadbeck Memorial Broker Recognition Award, which celebrates a commercial broker with exceptional personal and professional integrity, leadership, prominence in the brokerage community, and service to REBNY’s committees.

Alex Bernstein, Executive Vice President/New Business at Bernstein Real Estate Group, received The Young Real Estate Professional of the Year Award. This award is selected by the Young Men's/Women's Real Estate Association of New York and presented to a member who exemplifies strong integrity, professionalism, and personal ethics.

The sponsors of this time-honored networking event were: Presenting Sponsors - Tishman, Suffolk Construction, and Vornado Realty Trust; Diamond Sponsors - The Durst Organization and Newmark Knight Frank; Platinum Sponsors - Brookfield Properties and MGNY Consulting; Ambassador Sponsors - The Douglaston Companies, Stroock & Stroock & Lavan, CBRE, JP Morgan Chase & Co., and Kramer Levin; REBNY Lounge Sponsor - A. Ottavino Corp.; and Media Room Sponsors Con Edison and Withum.

The 123rd Annual Banquet was underwritten by Fred Geller Electrical, Fried Frank, ADCO Electrical Corporation, and ASM Mechanical Systems.